Nektar - Remember the Future 50th Anniversary Edition

Nektar's "Remember the Future" has long been a point of contention among fans and critics alike. To some, it's the band's creative zenith, a daring and ambitious opus that stands as a testament to their progressive rock compositional style. To others, it's an enigmatic puzzle that eluded their understanding. Yet "Remember the Future" marked a turning point in Nektar's career. Released in November 1973, it catapulted the band to international recognition, charting in Germany and reaching an impressive #13 on the US Billboard charts, all without the band ever setting foot on American soil. It was a watershed moment for Nektar, expanding their fan base and solidifying their reputation as progressive rock luminaries.

Now a newly minted 50th Anniversary edition of "Remember the Future" is a lavish celebration of a record that left an indelible mark on the genre. Spanning four CDs and a multi-region Blu Ray disc, this set is a treasure trove for Nektar aficionados and audiophiles alike. The centerpiece is, of course, the inclusion of both new 5.1 surround sound and stereo mixes. These mixes breathe new life into the music, enveloping listeners in a rich tapestry of sound that surely enhances the album's conceptual depth.

Also, the Blu Ray disc contains a treasure trove of visual and auditory delights. This disc features the original 1973 quad mix, a rare "Remember the Future" promotional film, the captivating "Wings" performance from BBC TV's Old Grey Whistle Test, and a live rendition of "Desolation Valley / Waves" from the same TV show. These visuals offer a fascinating glimpse into Nektar's era-defining aesthetic.

But that's just the beginning, additional gems are found on two CDs featuring a previously unreleased live concert recorded in Munster, Germany, back in January 1974. This performance captures Nektar at the peak of their powers, delivering a spellbinding rendition of their epic work in a live setting. It's a sonic time capsule that transports you to an era when progressive rock reigned supreme.

For stereophiles historians, the set also contains a newly remastered original stereo mix, which allows listeners to rediscover the album's sonic intricacies and subtle nuances with enhanced clarity.

Before fully diving in, be aware that no album is without its flaws, and "Remember the Future" is no exception. The album's occasional flirtation with '70s funk may make it feel slightly dated to modern ears. Additionally, its length can lead to moments of repetition, and the production quality, at times, lacks the polish of today's standards.

However, any minor blemishes pale in comparison to the album's overall grandeur. "Remember the Future" remains a formidable work of progressive rock, sure to captivate not only dedicated Nektar devotees but also fans of genre giants like Yes and Genesis. This hi-res edition is a lovingly crafted tribute to an album that defied convention and pushed the boundaries of its time, ensuring that its legacy will endure for another half-century and beyond.

Scheduled for release November 24, 2023.

Disc 1

  1. Remember the Future Part One
  2. Remember the Future Part Two Bonus Track
  3. Let It Grow (Live Erbach, Germany April 1973)

Disc 2

  1. Remember the Future Part One
  2. Remember the Future Part Two Bonus Tracks
  3. Lonely Roads (German Promo Single Version)
  4. Let It Grow (German Promo Single Version)

Disc 3

  • King of Twilight
  • Desolation Valley
  • A Day in the Life of a Preacher
  • Cast Your Fate

Disc 4

  1. Odysee
  2. That's Life
  3. Fidgety Queen
  4. Ron's on
  5. Show Me the Way
  6. Little Boy
  7. Need Love
  8. Smile / Lonely Roads
  9. Let It Grow

Disc 5

  1. Remember the Future - Part One
  2. Remember the Future - Part Two
  3. Remember the Future - (Promotional Film 1973)
  4. Wings (BBC TV "Old Grey Whistle Test" - 10th July 1973)
  5. Desolation Valley / Waves (BBC TV "Old Grey Whistle Test" - 23rd October 1973)

 Format Info

Deluxe Box Set with 4CD + 1 Blu-ray featuing new 5.1 surround sound mix, the original 4.0 quad mix, both new and original stereo mixes, along with bonus material.  Previously available on CD and Vinyl, plus earlier editions available for streaming..




 Get your copy here:


 Share this Article with your Friends

Pin It

 About the Author

Wesley Derbyshire Profile Image

Wesley is a lifelong music enthusiast. He started his career in the recording industry in New York City as an audio engineer, producer, and studio manager. Subsequently he toured across America as a guitarist with the short-lived band Land's Crossing. After many years in the technology sector and amassing a substantial vinyl and CD collection, he delved into immersive audio and created Hi-Res Edition to share with other listeners about the sound quality and discrete mixes available on many formats. He recently upgraded his system to 5.1.4 Dolby Atmos and continues to seek out and share about the best sounding releases.


Play all of your audio files from one D/A converter

Pro Ject Pre Box S2 DigitalNative support for MQA, DSD 64 - 512, and PCM file formats
A solid piece of audio technology that is music to year ears

Pro-Ject Pre Box S2 Digital



Super Audio CD

Compact Disc


Apple Lossless